



Chapter 114 - East Carolina University
Howell Science Complex – Greenville, NC 27858-4353
252-328-6718 office – 252-328-4178 fax - ww.ecu.edu/org/pkp
SEPTEMBER 2005

Lorraine Robinson EDITOR

## PAST PRESIDENT

Dr. Ronald Nowaczyk
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

#### **PRESIDENT**

Dr. Ronald Newton BIOLOGY

### **VICE PRESIDENT**

Dr. Marilyn Sheerer EDUCATION

#### **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR**

Dianna Lowe ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

#### **SECRETARY**

Dr. Martha Alligood NURSING

#### **TREASURER**

Dr. Thomas Durham PSYCHOLOGY

#### **DIRECTORS**

Dr. George Bailey PHILOSOPHY

Dr. Michael Bassman HONORS

Dr. Charles Ewen ANTHROPOLOGY

Dr. Sylvie Debevec Henning INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMS

Dr. Sharon Knight HEALTH EDUCATION

Jeff Phipps
THEATRE & DANCE

#### **COMMITTEE CHAIRS**

Dr. Kermit Buckner EDUCATION

Donald Leggett ADVANCEMENT

Dr. Holly Mathews ANTHROPOLOGY

Joyce Newman, MFA HARRIOT COLLEGE

Maura Pizzaro
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Dr. Henry Peel ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

Dr. Lorraine Robinson ENGLISH

Dr. Sandra Seay EDUCATION

Dr. Keats Sparrow ENGLISH

Dr. Paul Tschetter GRADUATE SCHOOL

# PHI KAPPA PHI ANNOUNCES OFFICER AND COMMITTEE CHAIR SELECTIONS FOR 2005-2006

The ECU Phi Kappa Phi Chapter (No. 114) has begun a new year by announcing a slate of officers and committee chairs for 2005-2006. Nowaczyk has served with distinction as past president of the chapter, and Ron Newton now steps into the role of president with Marilyn Sheerer serving as vice president. Dianna Lowe is executive director, and Martha **Alligood** takes over the secretarial chores. **Tom Durham** remains as treasurer. The directors are: George Bailey, Michael Bassman, Charles Ewen, Sylvie Debevec Henning, Sharon Knight, and Jeff Phipps. Kermit Buckner will serve as chair of nominations, and George Bailey will handle alumni and distinguished merit awards. Chair of archives is Don Leggett with Marilyn Sheerer taking charge of endowments. New faculty and staff selections are under the purview of Henry Peel. Paul Tschetter will recruit graduate students for membership. Sandra Seay will help out with lecture/debate series while Lorraine Robinson is in charge of public affairs. Holly Mathews stays on as chair of fellowship and awards for students. Undergraduate student selection will be guided by Dianna Lowe, and recognition activities are under the leadership of **Keats Sparrow**. **Joyce Newman** will stay on as our Maura Pizarro will chair the banquet and initiation web-page editor. ceremony event.

# ECU CHAPTER OF *PHI KAPPA PHI* SUPPORTS UNDERGRADUATE SYMPOSIUM

The ECU Chapter of PKP is providing \$500 in support of the annual Undergraduate Symposium to be held in Raleigh at North Carolina State University on Nov 11-12, 2005. The money will be used to provide transportation and other costs for ECU undergraduates participating in the event. ECU student involvement is being coordinated through the HONORS program by **Dr. Michael Bassman**.

### ECU INITIATES NEW MEMBERS

Last year, the ECU chapter initiated 2 alumni, 2 faculty, 28 graduate students, 63 juniors, and 97 seniors into PKP. Congratulations to all of these initiates!